As educators in the new millennium our task is to engender in children the love of learning and teach them how to learn. With great technological advances occurring continually, the world will be their workplace. At Burwood East we take on the responsibility of relevant curriculum delivery to ensure the best preparation of your child for the future.


The content of the Victorian Curriculum F–10 includes both knowledge and skills. These are defined by learning areas and capabilities. This curriculum design assumes that knowledge and skills are transferrable across learning areas and capabilities. The capabilities enable students to develop particular values, dispositions and self-efficacy to become ‘successful learners, confident and creative individuals and active and informed citizens’.

At Burwood East Primary School, children are given the opportunity to develop their potential through sequential programs in eight learning areas and four capabilities:

Learning Areas:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Technologies – Design and Technologies and Digital technologies
  • Science
  • Health and Physical Education
  • Languages - Mandarin Chinese
  • The Arts - Visual Art and Performing Art
  • The Humanities – Civic and citizenship, Economics and Business, Geography ad History



  • Personal and Social
  • Ethical
  • Intercultural
  • Critical and Creative Thinking


The Victorian Curriculum is a continuum of learning represented as levels of learning not years of schooling. This enables the development of targeted learning programs for all students. The learning about the cross-curriculum priorities of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Histories and Cultures, Asia and Australia's engagement with Asia and Sustainability is embedded in the curriculum areas of the Victorian Curriculum F–10, and are not a separate curriculum.


@ 2018 Burwood East Primary School